With a hearty menu inspired by traditional firehouse cooking, Engine Co. No. 28 is serving up American classics at their best in a beautifully restored 1912 firehouse.
From responding to emergency calls to responding to the hunger pains of Los Angeles, Engine Co. No. 28 is a classic downtown eatery housed in a beautifully restored firehouse built in 1912. Serving hearty American fare inspired by the regional cuisine cooked in firehouses all over the country, Engine Co. No. 28 specializes in straight-up, standout dishes like meatloaf, firehouse chili, gourmet burgers and steaks.
Putting out the fires of hunger in the bellies of Angelenos for over 20 years, Engine Co. No. 28 is a classic American restaurant housed in a beautifully restored 1912 firehouse. One of the most unique restaurants in downtown Los Angeles, Engine Co. No. 28 has a traditional menu inspired by regional firehouse cooking around the country and serves American favorites in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Mahogany booths, brick floors, granite bar and pressed tin ceiling evoke classic grills of San Francisco and New York. Described by the Los Angeles Times as “American food at its best,” Engine Co. No. 28 offers a wide variety of hearty American fare that includes steak, chicken, regional dishes, soup, pasta, salad, sandwiches, gourmet burgers and of course the staple meal found in firehouses all across America: chili. Desserts are made by hand daily at Engine Co. No. 28 and include national favorites such as pecan pie, berry shortcake and a 911 hot fudge brownie sundae. Engine Co. No. 28 has an all-day happy hour at the bar with $5 food and drink specials, and the restaurant even offers diners a ride to local theaters and entertainment venues on board a little red fire shuttle. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Engine Co. No. 28 is a step back in time that will feed you very well today.
Built in 1912, Engine Co. No. 28 was at the time the most expensive fire station ever built in Los Angeles and answered emergency calls from July 23, 1913 through 1969. Today the restored building also houses a law firm and theater.